Skip To Main Content

MPCSD Digital Literacy Program

MPCSD uses Common Sense Media's Digital Literacy Curriculum to help educate our students on a number of topics. From Kindergarten through 6th grade, students have a series of lessons covering six strands:

  1. Media Balance & Well-Being
  2. Privacy & Security
  3. Digital Footprint & Identity
  4. Relationships & Communication
  5. Cyberbullying, Digital Drama, & Hate Speech
  6. News & Media Literacy

Please see the table below for the scope and sequence. Click on any lesson to review the content,

MPCSD's Digital Literacy Scope and Sequence

Grade Level Media Balance & Well-Being Privacy & Security Digital Footprint & Identity Relationships & Communication Cyberbullying, Digital Drama, & Hate Speech News & Media Literacy
K Pause for People Safety in My Online Neighborhood        
1 How Technology Makes You Feel Internet Traffic Light        
2 Device-Free Moments That's Private Digital Trails Who Is in Your Online Community? Putting a STOP to Online Meanness Let's Give Credit!
3 Your Rings of Responsibility Password Power-Up This Is Me Our Digital Citizenship Pledge The Power of Words Is Seeing Believing?
4 My Media Choices Private and Personal Information Our Online Tracks Keeping Games Fun and Friendly Be a Super Digital Citizen A Creator's Rights and Responsibilities
5 Finding My Media Balance You Won't Believe This! Beyond Gender Stereotypes Digital Friendships Is It Cyberbullying? Reading News Online
6 Finding Balance in a Digital World Don't Feed the Phish Who Are You Online? Chatting Safely Online Digital Drama Unplugged Finding Credible News

At our elementary schools, lessons are either taught by the classroom teacher or the librarian. Sixth graders who take the Wheel rotation receive their lessons during the six-week Digital Citizenship course.